Dealing with Difficult People

I thank God for dealing with Difficult People. It is a true test of our ability to learn and change. Dealing with someone each time with the same results – may be ok, but if the results are not what we want… then why would we continue to do the same thing every time.

I find sometimes we have to think what we control and can change:
I find that the Serenity Prayer has the power to get people through all types of situations. Dealing with difficult people seems to be no exception. Applied to this situation, the Serenity Prayer would look something like this.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change (them), the courage to change the things that I can (me), and the wisdom to know the difference.

One of the keys to dealing with difficult people is learning to accept them where they are. If we can have the insight to look at our part in the situation and the courage to make the necessary changes, we may find that it often is easier to deal with others.

If you find yourself dealing with difficult people on a regular basis and it’s not associated with your occupation, maybe it’s time to take a look at yourself. A mentor once said to me, “if you want to know they type of person you are, look at the type of people you attract.”

What a wide awakening for me. I could be the difficult person in someone else s life? Not me.. So here is way the thought changes from me to God.

God really is my focus. If I am a mature Christian and live my life to bring others to Christ, my mind set has to be that I should live my life as a faithful servant and He commands me to go into the world and make disciples. That is my purpose. It is not my purpose to make enemies.

My Father, always said, “Kill people with Kindness,” and have always tried to do that. It can be difficult at times, but with the help of God you can do anything – especially to serve is purpose. His purpose is to make disciples. You will not win people to Christ if you are working at making people your enemies or to have them watch you interact with people in a fowl way – then you turn around and invite them to Church. They might see you as pretty hypocritical. We need to spend time with people to tell them – we all are human and suffer from all the same things. We all make mistakes, but if we try and show Jesus’ light in our lives, people will see it and want to be like that.

bully

My friends – this is not an easy matter, but through God all things are possible.

Romans 12:9-12
Love in Action

9 Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. 10 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. 11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

