Week 5 Day 5 My Identity

who-am-i

Focus: Defining your self worth through your relationship with Jesus Christ, even when life is stressful

Scripture As you read Isaiah 61:10-11 spend a few moment thinking about your righteousness in Jesus Christ.

WHO AM I?

Bonnie was in the middle of the wellness seminar her supervisor had asked her to attend. She looked forward to taking a break from phones, computers, and clients, and she enjoyed learning how to deal with stress and begin an exercise program. But the instructor had asked the participants to do something that was a little more difficult for Bonnie. “Write a brief paragraph describing who you are.”

The more Bonnie considered the question, the more confused she became. She could describe what she looked like. She could tell “who” she was at work. She could describe her roles of wife and mother, but none of those descriptions explained who se was.

Perplexed and a bit disturbed, Bonnie began to ponder more deeply the question, “Who Am I?”

If you identify with Bonnie’s confusion in trying to answer “Who am I?” the following statements may help you take a closer look at how you view yourself. Answer True (T) or False (F) according to that’s for you!

¾ People usually recognize me as my children’s mother.

¾ My self worth is often based on my performance at work.

¾ When I “look good,” I feel better about myself

¾ If my house were clean and organized, I would feel better about myself.

¾ People know me by what I do.

¾ I’m usually known as my husband’s wife.

¾ I often compare myself with women who are successful in business.

¾ When someone wants to know about me, I usually respond by telling them what I do, where I go to church, where I live and how many children I have.

¾ I regularly think of myself as being a child of God.

HOW GOD VIEWS YOU

Read what Isaiah 61:10 says God has done for you. Then fill in the blanks.

He has clothed you with garments of _____________ and arrayed you with the robe of ___________!

Colossians 3:3 says, “your (new, real) life is hidden with Christ in God” (AMP). That new life has nothing to do with what we do or who we are, but with our position in Christ. Women who are going through particularly stressful times often lose sight of their identity. Notice that I did not say they lose their identity, but they lose sight of it! When you experience failure or inadequacy in a particular area of life, it’s easy to define your self-worth or self-esteem within the context of that area.

In which of the following areas do you often base your identity and determine your self-worth? Check all that apply.

o My job performance

o Being a mother

o Being a wife

o My work in the church

o How well I keep house

o My intelligence

o How I look

o The approval of others

o Other _________

To what degree do you define your self-esteem based on your “performance” in any of these areas? Circle one.

Rarely pretty often most of the time

THE DAUGHTER OF THE KING

God has clothed you in royal attire! Paul says in 2 Corinthians 5:20 that we are Christ’s ambassadors. The spiritual world sees you wearing your royal garments. Your identity is in Christ, not in what you do or who you are.

When you see yourself this way, you will shout with the prophet Isaiah, “I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness” (Isaiah 61:10, NIV)

Do you walk, talk, and behave as if you are dressed in royal garments?

o Absolutely

o Every now and then

o Are you kidding?

In the cloud above, draw yourself dressed in your royal attire. Try to think of other symbols of royalty besides the ones we’ve mentioned.

After you’ve finished your drawing answer the following questions.

If you were to think of yourself as clothed in royal attire, would you carry yourself differently in the grocery store, at the bank, in your neighborhood? Yes, No or I’d be the same.

How might viewing yourself as royalty affect the way you interact with others?

As you focus on wearing your royal robes, consider the following physical tips that will help you express the reality of your spiritual nature.

· Smile. This helps others feel comfortable and often opens the door for you to share Jesus.

· Stand tall. Look confident. Christ died for YOU, Present an image that shows you are thankful for His sacrifice.

· Look people in the eye. This shows genuine interest and sensitivity

· Groom yourself well. Pay attention to details like your fingernails, hair, and cleanliness of clothes.

· Take deep breathing breaks. This will help you remain calm when stressors hit.

· Think of others first. Show you are interested by listening intently and asking questions. Put the other person’s needs before your own.

· Remain positive. Remember you have a positive God!

What is God revealing to you today?

As you close today’s study, start your prayer time with this prayer:

Dear Father, Help me see myself today as you see me. I Love You.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

