Week 5 Day 4 Clean Before God

Focus: Experiencing the joy of being forgiven.

Scripture: As you read Psalm 34, ask God to fill you with joy of your salvation.

DIFFICULT ACCEPTING GOD’S FORGIVENESS

Marie’s childhood and teenage years were traumatic and filled with shameful memories. She blames herself for the horrible things that happened to her – thought there was little, if anything she could have done to prevent them from happening. She feels she doesn’t deserve God’s love and forgiveness.

Camille on the other hand, grew up in a Christian environment and invited Jesus into her heart at an early age. She loves the Lord and has experienced many years of walking closely with Him. However her intimacy with the Lord changed when she feel into deep sin that caused her to feel she was totally unworthy of God’s love and forgiveness.

Marie and Camille are both Christians who feel unworthy of God’s love.

Have you ever felt you didn’t deserve God’s love? Yes or No

If so, describe your feelings.

How do you feel about forgiveness of sins?

o I believe I’m forgiven.

o Because of things I’ve done I sometimes wonder if God really can forgive my sins.

o I sometimes try to work harder at “being good” to make up for my sins.

o There are some sins I don’t think God can forgive.

o I really do want to believe that I’m forgiven, but I’m having a hard time accepting it.

WHEN THE RIGHTEOUS CRY FOR HELP

If you are a child of God, you are righteous. You have invited Jesus into your heart and because of that, you are in right standing with God. Your position in Him has nothing to do with effort. It’s all about the price Jesus paid for your sin. You are righteous not because of who you are but because of who He is!

Prayerfully mediate on Psalm 34:7. Then answer the following questions. At two things does the Lord do when the righteous cry out for help?

1.

2.

Are you righteous? (see earlier definition ) Yes or No

Fill in these blanks.

I am __________________ before God because of what Jesus did for me on the cross. Therefore, when

I cry out to Him, He will ______________________ me and deliver me from my ___________.

What an incredible reality.. I cry out to the lord in my sorrow and He lovingly delivers me from all the distress I feel! According to Psalm 34:18 of the Amplified Bible, “The Lord is close to those who are of a broken heart and saves such as are crushed in spirit.” The Amplified Bible defines crushed in spirit as, “crushed with sorrow for sin and humbly and thoroughly penitent.”

You will never be worthy of God’s blessings. You will never deserve the forgiveness of God. You can only humbly accept and appreciate His forgiveness and be in awe of His extravagant love for you. When you let the reality of that truth grab you, you won’t be able to stop praising Him! You’ll want to cry out. “Glorify the Lord with me, let us exalt his name together” (Psalm 34:3 NIV)

Take are few moments to praise God for His extravagant love. Sing to Him with your voice or in your heart. Worship Him and thank Him. Rejoice in Him!

One way you can show your thankfulness for God’s gift of grace is to develop a lifestyle of continual praise and gratitude. “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth” (Psalm 34:1, AMP)

Schedule two opportunities to praise God today in ways or at times you don’t usually praise Him.

Write them down.

1.

2.

What is God revealing to you today?

As you close today’s study, start your prayer time with this this prayer:

Dear Father, I can’t thank you enough for Your love for me. I offer you the praise of my mouth today. Your mercy and loving-kindness are more than I can imagine and more than I deserve. Thank you. I love You so much!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

