Timing and God’s Way

You can never make everyone happy and for the most part – you cannot even make yourself happy – unless you choose too.

God gave me an opportunity to move to Virginia last year and work at the Pentagon.  It has been a wonderful job – probably one of the best jobs I have ever had.

Now my husband is moving here and we are hoping we enjoy living here for a while.  I do not want to retire in DC area, but it really is a great place to work and live.

Timing is everything and God gave me a little bit of sunshine yesterday.  We are going to be able to ship more of our household goods, but today – I found out we’ll have to pay excess cost.  So that isn’t great, but still better then getting rid of everything or selling it for pennies on the dollar.

I have blogged many times about trusting and obeying God.  I have been down on my knees and I am obedient to the Father.

I pray for things to work out the way I want them too, but in the long run – God is in charge.

The Biblical word for “obey” comes from the Greek “hupakou” which means to listen.  So I am listening and waiting for God to reveal his plans.

God Rewards Obedience

Over and over again we read in the Bible that God blesses and rewards obedience:

Genesis 22:18
“And through your descendants all the nations of the earth will be blessed—all because you have obeyed me.” (NLT)

Exodus 19:5
Now if you will obey me and keep my covenant, you will be my own special treasure from among all the peoples on earth; for all the earth belongs to me. (NLT)

Luke 11:28
Jesus replied, “But even more blessed are all who hear the word of God and put it into practice.”(NLT)

James 1:22–25
But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves. For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it. (NLT)

Obedience to God Proves Our Love

1 John 5:2–3
By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God and obey his commandments. For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome. (ESV)

2 John 6
And this is love, that we walk according to his commandments; this is the commandment, just as you have heard from the beginning, so that you should walk in it. (ESV)

1 John 2:3–6

And we can be sure that we know him if we obey his commandments. If someone claims, “I know God,” but doesn’t obey God’s commandments, that person is a liar and is not living in the truth. But those who obey God’s word truly show how completely they love him. That is how we know we are living in him. Those who say they live in God should live their lives as Jesus did. (NLT)

For me and my house – we serve the Lord.  I am not a perfect person and I make mistakes, but I will never earn enough points to get to heaven on my own account.  Amen for God’s word that gives me comfort and praise him for all the blessings he bestows.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

