Good Sarmatian or Not

th

Yesterday, when I came into work, I was told that last Friday, a women standing at a bus stop in the DC metro area, was forced into a van and ganged raped. These stories are something that happen through the US. When looking for information on this incident, I found many across the country that were similar. Not a good day story, but something that makes you think about standing at a bus stop alone.

My afternoon routine is to take the metro to Huntington, then bus to my Curves to work out. Well yesterday afternoon. It rained quite a bit and it was very humid. I had worked out, but forgot my work out clothes – so just wrote my shirt and took off my work jacket. So I was really sweaty by the time I left there. I stood at the bus stop for a very long time and decided I’d at least get a few steps in if I walked to the next bus stop. When I did – a car started honking at me. I looked and a man in his mid 50’s or early 60’s was trying to give me a ride. He could have been a good Sarmatian, but maybe not.

How do you know when someone is good or bad. I trust my instincts and I may have been wrong, but I didn’t accept the ride. I try to be a good Sarmatian, at the bus stop yesterday, a man didn’t have enough change for the bus, so I gave him 35 cents. Not a lot, but it allowed him to get on the bus. He thanked me and I nodded as I got off the bus. I wasn’t threatened or wrong about that guy.

I thought about it all night, maybe he was just a nice man who saw that I was hot and sweaty and it looked like it was going to rain again, but I could have been picked up and never dropped off at my apartment.

Safety first and trust in the Lord.

Amen.

Proverbs 3:5-6
New International Version (NIV)

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

