God’s plan for our Lives

God’s plan for our Lives

When I was growing up I always felt I was a disappointment to God, he wanted me to give more and more of myself to others and I wasn’t sure that I wanted to do that.

I remember always wanting to do the right thing, but always did the wrong thing. I even worked at covering my tracks. Well that is only human; we all want to appear perfect or at least unblemished.
When I went into the Navy, I tried to be a “good” girl, but it wasn’t easy. It was a time of one night stands and I had my share. I even went off the pill thinking that would keep me from doing anything. Well it kept me from having sex many times, but finally I did and I did get pregnant.
The life we live isn’t always the life we believe we will live! I guess I always thought my life should be exciting and now I realize the most exciting thing about my life is that I have it to live for Christ.

Yes – I didn’t stay in Clinton, Iowa, marry my High School Sweetheart and live happily ever after. I did end up seeing the country, having experiences that very few in Clinton would have ever had, but my life isn’t much different than theirs. I ended up marrying, having children and divorced and remarried and had step-children enter my life. That is very common these days.

I think the real testimony of my life is that I have experiences many things, but the greatest of these is my life in Christ. Because of God, I have confidence to say his gospel. The Holy Spirit has given me strength to do things beyond my own worth and talents.

I have spoken in front of large groups, small groups and taught and facilitated over the years, but as I grow and live in Christ, I know how my real strength is in small groups and showing the light of Christ in how I conduct my life.

God’s plan for me is so very much better than I could have ever planned. Spend time in his word and he will direct you as well. You can see challenges in your life and overcome them with his help.
The Spirit of God will not “leave you as orphans” (John 14:18), but He will come forth to us with the “olive leaf,” the Spirit of peace, and reconciliation to declare within us the power of the precious Blood of Jesus, through which we reconcile with God. Thus we are no more strangers and foreigners but fellow-citizens with the saints, and of the household of God. This is the work of the Spirit which carries the “olive leaf,” who takes of “what is Mine (Jesus) and declares it to you” (John 16:14).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

