Truly Blessed

photo (11)

I think of Ann who wrote the book, One Thousand Gifts and I think wow losing her sister at such a young age and observing it was even more traumatic. Then I think of my old childhood, I have a hard time looking at tragedy the way she must have, but as any human, we all have highs and lows in our lives. I guess the first time I realized that this life isn’t forever was when I was five. My Dad had his first heart attack. It was very frightening and we didn’t know if he would survive, at least that is the impression I got. From then on, my Dad suffered several heart attacks and kidney problems. When I was 16 years old, my mother awoke me to ask me to drive my Dad to the hospital, he didn’t want an ambulance to come and get him. So I drove him in the middle of the night to the hospital. Dropping him and my mother off at the emergency room. Very frightening, it was the first day of my Junior year. My sister Janet and I went to school not knowing what was happening.

We grew up fast because of his illnesses and my mother too suffered her own health issues. I think for many years we lived at the hospital. Back, then we would have to sneak in or act older so we could get in.

Another time when my father was sick, he was ready to give up. I was already in the Navy, but about 20 years old. My Dad was hospitalized again for emphysema and heart problems. He wanted to end it, but we talked and he told me of his fears. I loved my Dad very much. He was going to make it this time. He only survived to see me pregnant and having a baby that I gave up for adoption. He survived to the point of developing lung cancer. He died when I was 22.

I am not trying to compare my life to anyone else’s, but in the long run, my life is blessed.

Truly today was a great example of that blessing. Even though I am far away from Don, I have a office of people I call friends. Eric McCross is a real blessing, because he also goes to my church. He is a real great guy and has a great family. He is a fellow brother in Christ. Shelley Kavlick is a blessing too, she really was the reason I was hired and I believe I sent to DC. I believe she needed me in her life at this moment. I also believe I needed this job. A job that I really love and am fairly good at. Both the Generals are great guys and I respect them very much.

So today, I was honored along with many other recipients, but I was honored for Category II Civilian of the Quarter. Then to top that off, we went to lunch for Administrative Professional week. It was an honor to share that appreciation with all the staff in RE and REE. I am truly blessed. Chief Drapeau who also interviewed me for the job here, is getting together a bunch of people to do a Obstacle Course 5K in Maryland for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital. So I signed up today to go with these folks. I am not sure I’ll be able to do the obstacles, but I will try.

I also received this very nice plant and fruit basket today from my office. It is very nice and I carried it proudly on the train and bus home. Even though I am without a vehicle I feel blessed that I can get around and do things – like grocery shopping. Today was a most beautiful day, weather just right, not too hot just perfect weather. Another blessing. I bet if I really thought about it, we could get 1,000 blessings out of today.

I believe that I honor God when I announce or proclaim the blessing in my life. I also bless God with my gifts and talents.

Taking from Old Testament – Malachi 3:10 Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!

That is how I feel today – God has opened up the heavens and poured out blessings so numerous I cannot count them all – so I really might be past the 1000 Gifts.

Before I finished writing this blog, my sister Becky called. Another blessing God. Great talking with her and thank you for your love and comfortable God.

Amen.

P.S. I could have written a negative blog about my day if I would have had my head in the dirt and looking at all the weeds in my life, but I chose to look up and focus on God, and with that the blessings were flowing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Truly Blessed

  1. gigi says:

    well put cathy. take care. gigi

Leave a Reply

