First 5K

Today was my first 5K, I was very cold with temperatures in the mid 30s, but they did have a warm up session which was helpful.  So my day began at 5:40, with normal preparation and then out the door before 6:38 to catch the bus to the metro station.

I got to the metro and waited on the train to take off at 7:00 am.  There are a lot of homeless people around stations, but today an unusual man – with flowers in his hand approached me on the train.  He said “do you know what type of flower this is” – I didn’t know – maybe a pansy.  He of course wanted change or money, I gave him 4 quarters, 2 dimes and a few pennies.

 

Image

I don’t mind helping on occasion, but it is only a drop in the bucket.  As he left the train he called me an angel.    I smiled and went on to the race.  

I looked forward to the race and got my bib and moved on to the crowd to do the warm-up session.  Then headed to the start line.

I can only tell you that I am ready for a nap.  The satisfaction that I completed the race under 1 hour makes me happy.  I talked to a few ladies and may see them at the next race.

Image

 

Image

God is so wonderful and I want to serve him in everything.  So for my list of joys and One thousand Gifts for today

1) Clothes to keep me warm

2) Gloves that protect my hands

3) Flowers from a stranger 

4) Having money to give to the poor

5) Race for awareness of Colon Cancer

6) Conversation during the walk with fine people

7) Diversity of people and their beliefs

8) Water at the half way point

9) Banana, Apple and Water at the end

10) Subway home

11) Omelet and toast when I got home and warm coffee

12) Nap

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First 5K

Leave a Reply

