Excuses

I didn’t run the race today.  I haven’t been running the race of life for 4 days.  Tuesday, I went to one of those in and out doctor places.  They gave me 3 prescriptions and off I went.  By Wednesday I was feeling worse, not with my sinus infection, but medication interaction or something.  Drove to work on Thursday and almost passed out.  Took bus home and left my car overnight.  Friday… I decided to take annual leave and get my car and groceries and take it easy one more day.  The weather wasn’t very nice this morning with a low in the 30s.  I knew I wasn’t going to be able to run the race today.   I haven’t even exercised since Monday.  So here I am Saturday morning and excuses prevail.

I have family situations wearing on me, my sister-in-laws illness, my son’s fate, my son-in-laws fate and so on and so on.  So I was thinking if I did not have a God in my life, that if I listened to Satan’s words in my ears.  You are alone you are alone in DC and you have been forsaken.  Yes I hear those words on occasion.  I especially hear those words when I am selfish and feeling sorry for myself.

Then I am reminded of Job – Job was a good man, his friends thought he was truly blessed by God.  But when things started going wrong and they went wrong very fast.   Satan thought that Job only was faithful and obedient to God because he was blessed, but when he lost everything he remained faithful, but his friends thought he was cursed.  Job lost everything and he still worshiped God and did not charge God with the wrong.

Satan then says – if he was allowed to attack Job personally, then he would lose his faith in God.  So when Job develops boils and sickness, what does Job do?  Job refused to curse God.  His wife lost her faith, but not Job.

Job provides us an answer to the challenge made by Satan.  We must be a people who serve God even in our adversity, for God is worthy of our praise apart from the blessings He provides. We may still question and look for answers from God.  The book of Job does give us knowledge how the righteous should suffer, and how carefully we should be in comforting others.  We can not fully understand God’s working in our lives and in this world.

I praise the Lord for giving us examples in the Bible to live by.  I thank him that I am alive and able to serve him.  Even if I only write about my experiences, hopefully someone can find comfort or a place to start looking for answers.

Many people worship in different ways, but his way is his Book, the Truth and his Son is that Truth.  Jesus took on all our sins, suffered, died and was buried.  On the third day he rose from the dead and through his resurrection we have hope.  We are a new person in Christ and I see in my life as I mature, I am that new person who can experience life through my failures and blessings still worshiping God with my whole heart.

The prophet Habakkuk expressed it this way:

 Though the fig tree may not blossom, Nor fruit be on the vines;
   Though the labor of the olive may fail, And the fields yield no
   food; Though the flock may be cut off from the fold, And there 
   be no herd in the stalls;

   Yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will joy in the God of my 
   salvation.  The LORD God is my strength; He will make my feet
   like deer's feet, And He will make me walk on my high hills.

                                  (Hab 3:17-19)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

